top of page

Stage 1 Fire Restrictions Go Into Effect In Parts Of Southwestern MT

Stage 1 Fire Restrictions have been enacted in parts of southwestern Montana by interagency fire management officials.

Starting at midnight on Friday, July 9th they become effective tell further notice.

These restrictions will apply to various areas in the following counties: Madison County, Beaverhead County, Deer Lodge County, Silver Bow County, Powell County south of I-90 and highway 12, and Granite County south of I-90 and east of Lolo National Forest Boundary.

These restrictions also apply to lands managed by the U.S. Forest Service, MT DNRC, BLM, US Fish & Wildlife & Parks, NPS within the Dillon dispatch zone.

Stage 1 fire restrictions are as follows:

  • Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire or campfire unless noted in the exemption below or as designated in the specific closure order.

  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

Exemptions to the above Stage 1 prohibitions include the following:

  • Persons with a written permit that specifically authorizes the otherwise prohibited act.

  • Persons using a device solely fueled by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off. Such devices can only be used in an area that is barren or cleared of all overhead and surrounding flammable materials within 3 feet of the device.

  • Persons conducting activities in those designated areas where the activity is specifically authorized by written posted notice.

  • Any Federal, State, or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.

  • All land within a city boundary is exempted.

  • Other exemptions unique to each agency/tribe.

137 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page